closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Retiring a Rolex

Retiring a Rolex

I've been wearing my Kermit daily for the last 6 years and in that time it's tripled in value (give or take) and I think it's probably time to give it the tlc it deserves. No more gardening working on cars etc.

What should I do with it to keep it in tip top condition while not being worn as often?

Send to Rolex for a full service ?
    Stick it in the winder ?
    Stick it in it's box in the safe ? Will the lack of use affect it adversely ?

I "retired" my Datejust after 20 years of firefighting and outdoor sports and came here looking for advice re a work watch. In the years since it's been worn in rotation with my other watches and never taken any harm. It doesn't do any rough stuff nowadays mind, and is my most accurate mechanical by far.
    F.T.F.A.

Craftsman
    If it's the increase in value that's making you ask this question - do you think it's time to sell it?

Rather than be precious about it for the foreseeable, would you be happier to service and sell the Rolex, bank the profit and buy a suitable replacement to do the gardening etc, ?

Grand Master
    Putting it on a winder is a crazy idea.

Either get it serviced and refinished to bring the condition back to where it should be or simply put it in your safe. Contrary to popular myth I do not believe that watches benefit from being run regularly.

Paul

Quote Originally Posted by ronnie3585 View Post
    If it's the increase in value that's making you ask this question - do you think it's time to sell it?

Rather than be precious about it for the foreseeable, would you be happier to service and sell the Rolex, bank the profit and buy a suitable replacement to do the gardening etc, ?