closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches



TZ-UK Fundraiser
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Hi-res audio question

  1. #1
    Master Skyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Here and there
    Posts
    7,254
    Blog Entries
    1

    Hi-res audio question

    I have just bought my audio gear for travelling on this year's hols - AK70, noise cancelling MDR1000s and a pair of Shure 535s. I now need to rip some CDs to FLAC. For a newbie to the subject, please can someone recommend a suitable ripper for an MS user? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Using the free MediaMonkey version here.
    Seems to work well and I cant hear any difference these days on lossless FLAC....
    (I'm talking about normal CD's so not sure how hi-res you mean)

  3. #3
    I use dBpoweramp CD Ripper with a FLAC lossless level of 5

  4. #4
    Master Skyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Here and there
    Posts
    7,254
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob View Post
    I use dBpoweramp CD Ripper with a FLAC lossless level of 5
    That is my third recommendation for that.👍

  5. #5
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    606
    That's the one I used to rip my whole CD collection (circs 800) before they all went to music magpie.

    Worked great without issue.

    Jake

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob View Post
    I use dBpoweramp CD Ripper with a FLAC lossless level of 5

  6. #6
    Master Skyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Here and there
    Posts
    7,254
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Jake View Post
    That's the one I used to rip my whole CD collection (circs 800) before they all went to music magpie.

    Worked great without issue.

    Jake
    Great work! How long does one CD take?

  7. #7
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    In them there mountainous Hills of Surrey
    Posts
    307
    Just to add a different option I use EAC (exact audio copy). Works for me and was a free download.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Nuttington View Post
    Just to add a different option I use EAC (exact audio copy). Works for me and was a free download.
    +1

  9. #9
    Master Rod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Co. Durham
    Posts
    8,278
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob View Post
    I use dBpoweramp CD Ripper with a FLAC lossless level of 5
    +1... spot on exactly as I use.

  10. #10
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,723
    Quote Originally Posted by Rod View Post
    +1... spot on exactly as I use.
    Another here too.No problems.

  11. #11
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Posts
    849
    I use Foobar (Mac) and it works great.

  12. #12
    If you're using Windows the Media Player has a built in lossless setting. WMA Pro is also good - to me it sounds as good as lossless and it also uses less space.

  13. #13
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    606
    Quote Originally Posted by Skyman View Post
    Great work! How long does one CD take?
    IIRC a couple of mins per CD. Depends on how powerful your computer is.
    I ripped my CDs when I was doing other work - pop a CD in hit rip and go back to what I was doing. CD popped out when done. It was quite good at pulling artwork too.

    Jake

  14. #14
    Master Skyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Here and there
    Posts
    7,254
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Jake View Post
    IIRC a couple of mins per CD. Depends on how powerful your computer is.
    I ripped my CDs when I was doing other work - pop a CD in hit rip and go back to what I was doing. CD popped out when done. It was quite good at pulling artwork too.

    Jake
    Thanks.👍

  15. #15
    Master amnesia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    2,572
    Blog Entries
    1
    Another vote for EAC

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using TZ-UK mobile app

  16. #16
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,622
    MediaMonkey & Flac. 1-8 makes no difference in respect of quality, just a time / storage trade. I use 5.

  17. #17
    Journeyman Cornholio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    245
    Another vote for EAC and FLAC. Keep a close eye on your metadata to make sure that it works for you.

  18. #18
    Master Skyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Here and there
    Posts
    7,254
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob View Post
    I use dBpoweramp CD Ripper with a FLAC lossless level of 5
    Seems to be working a treat.👍

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Do Not Sell My Personal Information