closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Buying SubC Date new vs save up for pre-owned

Craftsman

Buying SubC Date new vs save up for pre-owned

Hi all,

I am relatively new to the appreciation of good quality, mechanical watches and started my journey by purchasing an automatic Junghans Max Bill in November last year.

I have now decided that as much as I admire this watch and the 'bauhaus' design, it is not really practical for daily use as I am worried that the casing will eventually get cracked.

Since I first started researching/lurking on forums for watches, my eye has always been taken by the SubC date and I told myself that I would purchase one for my 30th birthday next year and save up each month for this - either as a pre-owned model or brand new (subject to cost).

I placed myself on an London AD list in December last year and got an email today saying they now have a SubC date in stock for retail price (£6,250) and will hold onto it until next week for me if I still want it.

The issue I have is I do not have the funds saved up but I could purchase it on a credit card.

Can anyone offer any advice on whether to pick this up whilst I have the opportunity or save up and pick one up next year for my 30th?

I appreciate that there is a decrease in value as soon as you purchase new (like a car when drove off the forecourt) however as anal as it sounds, I think I would value the fact I was the only owner and that my name was on the warranty card and the saving would not be that substantial.

Look forward to any advice!

Many thanks.

Certainties in life, death, taxes and Rolex price increases. If you hold it for long enough prices will rise to offset the drop you may suffer now.

I would buy on interest free credit and get a new one, your name on the papers...

Quote Originally Posted by lawler View Post