closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: My strap SBS

Craftsman

My strap SBS

Hi Folks,

I stated to do this SBS a while back but never got round to writing it up so here goes. I'm no expert at strap making but this may help people who are looking to get into it.

This is going to cover a 20 -18mm strap size which I used to make. I actually prefer the shape of 20-16mm now but obviously the same principals apply.

Im going to start off with a strip of leather about 1.3mm thick, 30mm wide and 120mm long.

I skive one end down to fold over to make the loop for the springbar.

This strap is going to be padded so I cut the shape of the padding out of a thicker piece of leather/suede and skive this down in the direction of the bottom of the strap.

Next we glue this into place leaving enough leather above for the loop to fold back over.

Once the padding has dried, fold the leather over and glue to create a loop. Don't forget to leave a small hole for the springbar.

I'm now going to take a strip of thin veg tan leather to make the backing of the strap. This should be skived down at one end to create a smooth join when glued to the strap.

Next off I apply glue to the full length of strap so we can attach the backing.

Now attach the backing ensuring it is parallel with the top of the strap

When the backing is attached place the strap face up and apply pressure around the raised padded area to ensure the glue is contacting all of the surfaces and to also bring out the profile of the padding. When the glue has set we will have the layers built up to start marking and cutting the watch shape.