closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Omega 6B/159 calibre 30T2

Omega 6B/159 calibre 30T2

Hi i've been offered the below for sale and having no idea what-so-ever did a bit of research and cannot really come to a price this would be worth (there's all sorts in all sorts of conditions)
    the seller is a friend of mine and I don't want to over pay nor under pay ...

the screw-down back is marked 'A.M 6B/159 3xxx/59'

movement number dates movement to 1943 - 30t2 were used from '42 onwards

so wondering what you guys think the market value is - honestly this is for sale with a friend and we want to be ok with eachother and not under not over pay as its not cricket either way.

cheers - pm me if you want I check quite often

What you have here is a "1956 6B/159 recase". I'd venture a guess that the serial number on the back is actually 3xxx/56 as I'm unaware of any of these being issued in 1959, although I freely admit I am not an expert!

Basically these Omegas started life in the 1940's with a light coloured face and black or blued(?) hands. In 1956 a whole pile of them were stripped down by a government contractor and had their movements put into somewhat larger cases. At the same time the dial was repainted black and the hands covered with white luminous compound. My understanding is that this was not done without Omega's knowledge, involvement, or blessing. So you could think of them as an "officially supplied frankenwatch" if you like. :)

Some good info here: http://www.mwrforum.net/forums/showt...6b-159-Watches

I'm sure someone with more details will be along shortly, but that's how I understand it...

Grand Master
    Blog Entries