closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Omega 1583 movement - swapping for eta 255.461? Straight swap or not?

Apprentice

Omega 1583 movement - swapping for eta 255.461? Straight swap or not?

Hi folks, this is my first post do I'd just like to say hello.

I have a quartz omega seamaster pro with a movement that gas seen better days.
    Omega have quoted me over £700 to replace or repair the movement and I just wondered if I could just swap over the cal 1538 with the eta equivalent - which I think is the 255.461. All I would interchange is the coil protector as the original has the omega logo.

Does anyone know if this is possible? The eta is only £87 plus vat so it's a massive saving and I just want the watch working again

Cheers all

Yes, you should be able to swap bits over without issue. The ETA versions won't be decorated or rhodium plated though so you would need to mention this if you decide to sell.

What exactly is wrong with your movement? It must be badly damaged for Omega to quote £700 for a quartz movement!

Apprentice
    Something to do with the top plate being bent. You can't set the time, date or anything. I think they are just having a laugh at that price and I'm trade as well! The part to replace is a omega restricted part. It's easier just to swap them over like for like.

Grand Master
    Unless the mainplate is distorted.....and I can`t think how this could happen.......surely the movement should be repairable? I`ve had problems with the hand-setting on these before but always been able to sort the problem with new parts.

Provided the circuit's OK I'd be surprised if this can`t be fixed. It seems crazy, but circuits aren`t supplied separately.

I`m not volunteering to fix this, but I`d definitely approach an independent to get a second opinion.