closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Suggestions Welcome: Under $1k Elegant White Dial

Suggestions Welcome: Under $1k Elegant White Dial

I've been looking for my next watch, and was hoping that those of you with a broader knowledge of what is out there may suggest something I'd yet to consider. My criteria:

• Under $1000, preferably closer to $500.
    • Mechanical, either hand wind or automatic. Viewback a plus, not critical.
    • Beige or white dial
    • Classic styling, simple and easy to read.
    • Second time zone a plus, but not critical.
    • 38-42 mm face, no larger than 49.5 mm lug to lug.

My current collection is small, as I'm just starting out. I have a Precista PRS-3, a Seiko Coutura Kinetic and a Hamilton Khaki Automatic. All black dial on bracelet, practical watches. So I'm looking for something a bit brighter and dressy. Something other than a Hamilton (though the Navy Pioneer 40mm is gorgeous) just to mix things up. Tissot Automatics III also temping, and offers great value for the $$, but I'm hoping that there is something out there a bit more . . . interesting than another Swatch company product, as good as they are. And this is where I'd like to turn to suggestions from the hive mind. What do you recommend? I've found myself tempted by Sea-Gull watches before I come to my senses, and hoping you all can help steer.

Master
    Blog Entries
    Longines all day long

Steinhart Marine 38?

Master
    $245, display back, Calibre ST2130 (clone of ETA 2824-2) beating 8 times per second.

But if you don't like Seagull, $150 ish, automatic ,display back.

Last edited by J J Carter; 4th March 2013 at 00:16.

Graf Zepplin watches are interesting as well. $500 range, with several for less. Japanese automatic movements and exhibition backs.

Quote Originally Posted by J J Carter View Post
    But if you don't like Seagull . . .