closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: 10 seconds a day gain - ETA2892

10 seconds a day gain - ETA2892

I have a Ball Engineer Master II TMT that I was delighted to get last month. Overall I'm very pleased with the watch and it's mostly lived up to my expectations, which were high considering that I've wanted one for 3 years! Having looked on tinterweb I note that the watch has a Ball Caliber 9018 movement, which I believe is based on an ETA2892-A2? Having set the watch roughly 10 days ago I notice that its gained approximately 10 seconds per day over this period. I hoped somebody could help with the following please:

1. What are the timekeeping standards for COSC certification?
    2. How do I know if this watch has this certification?
    3. Is this a reasonable accuracy?
    4. If I took it back to the shop it was purchased from could I ask them to regulate it as part of the warranty, or would they think I was being overly demanding?

Many thanks in advance. I intend to get some photos of it today and will post them up later for anyone who may be interested. Cheers!

Re: 10 seconds a day gain - ETA2892

I think 10 seconds a day is within the tolerances, but all the ETA movements I have had are about that every few days, I personally would take it back for regulating.

Needs regulating - I'd expect 2-3 seconds per day maximum.

Probably worth getting regulating if you are going to wear it a lot imho. I think you would know about it if it was cosc rated - it would say 'cerfified chronometer' or somesuch on the dial or caseback. The swiss watch industry is not one to hide its light under a bushel!!
    Tim

Master