closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Watchmender is wrong shocker (Sun Headline)

Watchmender is wrong shocker (Sun Headline)

I quite like stripping watches and cleaning them up and getting them to run right. I'm no expert so wouldn't do that with an Omega or Rolex, but with simple watches that don't owe me much I'm happy to have a go!

There is one exception to this though - I hate fitting crystals. I know it's a simple job, but it's one I just can't get to grips with. So - I suppose I live by the motto of know your limits!

So, to this end I sent off this cheap Poljot to have a new crystal fitted, to a watchmender who is generally well thought of, and recommended, on this forum (I won't mention his name as that perhaps would be unfair) although I don't believe he posts here (or even ever reads emails or has updated his website since 1923)...

He fitted the new crystal, and I'd asked him to fit a seconds hand at the same time, as none of the ones I had would fit - these Soviet watches seem to use prop-shafts off tractors for the centre wheel pinion. As I'd not heard from him for a week or so, I gave him a ring to see the state of play - Crystal fitted and watch ready to come back... Goody.

Then he added he couldn't fit a seconds hand as the pinion was broken and the watch would need stripping and a new fourth wheel fitting - costing about £60 or so. OK - I'll have it back as it is and can use it without a seconds hand - after all, it's not worth a fortune.

After getting it back, I thought I'd have a quick look through a loupe - centre pinion is still there, and revolving at a steady rate... Something off here...

So, found a bag of hands, found a gold one with a decently large looking centre bush and reamed it out slightly to make a fit, and voila! Seconds hand on firmly and working away like a good one.

So - overall, not impressed that the watchmender didn't really try - and probably fibbed rather a lot to me...