closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Automatic Vs Manual Wind

Automatic Vs Manual Wind

I'm sure this has been discussed before but nothing coming up on the search function.

Is it true to say that a manual wind movement can be considered more robust and less prone to issues than an auto self-winding movement?

If the above is true then it follows that service interval may be longer.

What are the views amongst the learned? :)

Also, can folks list some of the more modern manual winders available?

Re: Automatic Vs Manual Wind

I'm not an expert in that, but in engineering in general less parts mean less possibility of failure.

Nowadays most mechanical watches I think are automatic, so probably these movements, in the price range that most people can afford, have been more thoroughly tested and developed. On the other hand many very expensive watches (100K+ UK pounds) have manual winding movements.

Probably there is no accurate answer to your question, because if you want to compare the robustness and the reliability of two mechanisms, you should test several of them under the exact same conditions.

Master

Quote Originally Posted by MrLion
    Is it true to say that a manual wind movement can be considered more robust and less prone to issues than an auto self-winding movement?

If the above is true then it follows that service interval may be longer.
    Not quite the same thing. Manuals have fewer parts and thus less to go wrong. Also, there's no weight whizzing around on a pivot to wear. But that increased robustness doesn't equate to longer intervals. The oil still evaporates and hardens at the same rate, so a manual and an auto will still need servicing at the same point.

But does it make a lot of difference in the real world? Probably not. I'm as happy wearing an auto for everything as I am a manual wind.

Give a Nomos a go - gorgeous manual movements.