closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: New laptop recommendations please

Master

New laptop recommendations please

My girlfriend is looking to buy a new laptop, mainly for web browsing, possibly some games although not too complex graphics wise and some document writing. Budget up to around £300-350. I have seen the two that I think look okay, but I am no computer expert. Do these (below) look good for the money, or should we be looking at something else? Any help appreciated :)

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/advent-mo ... 5-pdt.html

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/hp-pavili ... 0-pdt.html

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/advent-mo ... 0-pdt.html

Master

Re: New laptop recommendations please

A friend of mine who is into computing always swears by Sony.
    On that basis I have had a couple and they have been spot on.
    Cheers
    John

I have had a HP,Sony Vaio,Samsung to name but a few :D
    The HP wore horribly,the text came off the keys in a very short space of time and the touch pad also wore through to the base plastic colour very quickly.
    Likewise the Vaio track pad went very shiney very quickly although it did get used a lot like the HP.
    Out of all the ones I have had the most basic Samsung R519 was the most reliable in terms of Windows freezes,locking up etc.
    Also it wore very well and I only just got rid of it cause I got the Macbook Pro.

Bought one recently, see viewtopic.php?f=2&t=190715

Obviously not a full laptop, but I've bought the family an Acer Aspire One D257 netbook recently from Tesco for £199.
    250gb hard drive, 1gb ram (which I've upgraded to 2gb for £9.50!), 1.6ghz dual core Atom and windows 7 starter (now upgraded to home pro).
    I've loaded Office, iTunes etc on it and it all runs loveley... :shock:
    If screen size isn't an issue.... :albino: