closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Online watchmaking course

Online watchmaking course

I'd link to have a dabble in watchmaking and have seen various online courses. Has anyone here done one that they can recommend?

I really rate these, though I am just starting out myself. You can learn a lot just from watching his regular youtube channel and get a feel for his "style" https://www.watchrepairlessons.com/

I did look into the BHI course but I don't know if I really need to know how to make parts (and my own tools) right now, am only looking to do servicing currently.

Master
    Another vote for Mark Lovick's courses.. I've not taken it myself but have followed his youtube channel for a long time and I can say with some confidence that it would be excellent quality content!

He's super knowledgeable and just has such a nice pace and detail to the videos he puts out.

I’m also looking into this. The common advice seems to be the old (US) TimeZone Watch School. Having said that, as far as I can tell, it doesn’t look like it’s been updated in 10 years and you work through a number of html pages, which basically makes it a distance learning book-course.

I’m not saying that there have been revolutionary developments in watchmaking in the last 10 years that would affect a novice but I do wonder whether the format is still the best, or whether it’s still the best course despite its format.

Also, the price of entry by the time you’ve bought the requisite tools seems to be around $450 (+import if you get it from the recommended retailer) It’s not ridiculous for this hobby but it’s a significant stake to gamble for an interested hobbyist.

Would love to hear everyone’s recommendations too...

Grand Master