closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Introductory SOTC

Craftsman

Introductory SOTC

Afternoon!

While the girlfriend’s popped to the shops I thought it wasa good opportunity to finally say hello properly, and as I’ve particularly enjoy the SOTCs over the last few months, sharing my own modest collection seemed the most appropriate way. And doing so seems to spur on the next purchase!

My brother is to blame for this 3 years ago when he spent his inheritance from my grandpa on an old Rolex Explorer (I’m still learning all the refs, maybe a 114270 – I think I was wearing it one Friday so there’ll be a photo of it on here somewhere).

That was around my 30th and I thought I’d follow suit, but wanted to buy something new. The best thing I could find in my budget was a sapphire sandwich speedmaster, which as well as being such an icon, I thought well reflected my grandpa – a modest front, hiding that beautiful mechanism within. Though a brummie miser for all of his 99 years, he’d probably disown me for such luxury!

A sucker for everything I read, I then “needed a beater” so next acquisition was the SKX009. I’d just been to Japan so semi inspired by that, and it reminded me of a watch dad had when I was little and used to play with the bezel. It’s been bullet proof despite everything thrown at it, and I still love the bezel.

Last year I found my blue navitimer (A23322?). Truth be told, it was the model I’d wanted at my 30th but that silly notion of needing to be the first owner got in the way. Now it’s my normal go to, the dial is stunning, it’s incredibly accurate, and I actually find the slide rule quite useful, especially for FX rates (so maybe just twice a year).