closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Rolex 6424

Rolex 6424 - Update

I bought this watch about 25 years ago in Camden market, cant remember what I paid but was peanuts. Always presumed it was just a Rolex dial and crown fitted to something else, not sure I've worn
    it more than once as the crown never screwed down properly.

As part or consolidation of my collection I stuck it in the watch box from the draw where it had been left and today had a look at it and I managed to unscrew the case back.
    I was suprised to see the movement marked as Rolex but I really have no knowledge of old Rolex at all but did they fit small movements into larger cases?

My gut still says it some kind of Franken but any opinions advice appreciated as I will probably try to sell it if it has any value. The crown doesnt screw down at all now but it does seem to be running.

Last edited by TBKBABAB; 21st September 2018 at 13:50.

I'm no expert, but it looks similar to this movement.

http://www.horologist.com/vintagerolex.htm

M

Thanks, looks very similar dial and case to the first one but no date. The second one is a smaller movement in a larger case but
    fitted differently.
    Reckon all the parts are probably genuine Rolex but still not convinced they all originally came from the same watch.

I just dont want to try and sell as something it isnt.

Craftsman
    I had a 6424 that I gave to my Dad. Their cases are slightly bigger than similar precision models at 36mm so wear really nicely. The dauphine hands and shark tooth indices are the same as his. The movement should be a 1210 I think. They’re cracking watches if you can find them and sell for around the same price as a 6694, so offer great value for money for a rare model.

Sent from my iPhone using TZ-UK mobile app

Thanks looks very much like a 1210

Take it to Rolex and they’ll tell you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk