closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Partner Refusing to Go Back to Work After Baby

Partner Refusing to Go Back to Work After Baby

My partner has proclaimed our baby is unique and cannot go to a nursery to enable her to go back to work, he's 6 months old and a normal healthy baby.

She is now on the most basic level of SMP which she can take for another 3 months. I work as a freelancer so my income is not steady, and working from home with her milling around making noise and keep bothering me to show me cute baby outfits means I essentially am struggling to work at all.

It's not that I couldn't do some work, it's that I don't have any on and so she sees that as me being 'on holiday' and filling up my time with superfluous stuff meaning I'm not getting the time and space I need to focus on prospecting/canvassing and getting some work in. Her attitude is making me less than motivated about it too as I feel aggrieved that I'm going to have to work harder in order that she can swan about having days out with her parents and family, buying them gifts out of our joint account, pick up endless baby outfits which he wears once or twice, using only the most expensive nappies, etc., and otherwise not being part of a team.

I'm getting a bit concerned our situation is not sustainable, and her lack of ambition is a real downer for me.

Should I man up here and just take a job somewhere? My parents were both extremely hard working and that has given me a bit of an extreme work ethic and outlook on life so I may be being unkind to her, I don't know.

Anybody have any perspective on this?

Thats a tough one, very tough. Very sensitive conversation to have and the potential to go in any direction. It's early days, and I've seen lots of friends go through this and most are gagging to go back to work after a year, most part time but definitely back to work.