closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Thai Cook Book

Thai Cook Book

Fancy having a try at some Thai cooking, any one recommend a book they use that uses reasonably available ingredients and is not too intimidating?

I’d consider myself a Thai food aficionado and despite having a Thai wife I do all the Thai cooking at home. I also did a 2 week intensive Thai cuisine programme at Sala Rim Nam at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok (fellow students included Gary Rhodes). So, even if I blow my own trumpet a bit, I’m a fecking brilliant Thai cook who will cook for Thai people. I don’t do much well in life, but I can cook.

So in my advice the absolute best book you can get on Thai Cuisine is called ‘Thai Food’ by David Thompson. Despite the somewhat unimaginative name it’s absolutely magnificent and will have authentic recipes from basic stuff all the way to Royal cuisine.

Some tips I can give you to make the food taste authentic and avoid the mistakes most Brits make when they try to cook Thai food at home (in order of importance)

1. Do NOT under any circumstances use supermarket own curry paste (inevitably someone is going to pop in here and say Sainsbury’s do a cracking green curry paste or whatever but they are wrong it’s not authentic) so if you don’t make your own paste then buy from a Thai company on amazon (Mae Ploy, Thai Boy etc). Likewise, absolutely nothing from Blue Dragon or Sharwoods should be anywhere near your wok. I’m serious

2. Make sure you don’t serve it piping hot. Those of you who have been to Thailand will note that typically Thai dishes will be left to hang around for a couple of minutes to Cool slightly. The reason is obvious - all those complex flavour combinations are wasted if you eat it piping hot as you won’t be able to taste it