closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My handmade watch project.

Journeyman

My handmade watch project.

Hi everyone,

My name is David Lowinger and this is my first post. :-) I would like to share with you my fully handmade watch project.

I am a self-taught independent watchmaker living in Germany. I started to learn about watchmaking a little over 4 years ago. I mainly used George Daniels “watchmaking” book
    and various other online sources to learn how to manufacture each component of a wristwatch. I do not have an engineering background so I started from the absolute basics. (Learned how to use a lathe, mill, jeweling tool etc.)
    From day one my desire was to one day be able to manufacture a wristwatch from start to finish by myself without relying on automated machinery such as CNC or EDM. Also, my plan was to manufacture
    as many component of the watch in-house as I possible could. I still have a lot to learn, but I managed to design and hand manufacture the watch you see on the pictures below.
    (Sorry for the bad quality images but I took them myself and I am a terrible photographer)

This timepiece is completely hand crafted. No CNC or any kind of automated machinery was used in the manufacturing process. Only a manual milling machine and two manual lathes.
    The movement is my design, and it is handmade in-house. It is a seventeen (17) jewel manual winding movement based on an ETA 6498-2. I use the jewels, wheels, barrel, regulator and other components of the original movement,
    but the mainplate, all of the bridges, new click, click spring, cannon pinion, hour wheel and a dozen other components are all handmade from scratch. (I am also working on a handmade balance wheel)
    The rest of the components, such as the engraved dial, hands, stainless steel case, crown, buckle, leather strap and a wooden presentation box are all my designs and are handmade in-house.