closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Chappattis

Chappattis

Anyone make chappattis or any other flatbreads at home? Got any tips?
    Good luck everybody. Have a good one.

Got a few tips, off the top of my head -

find proper chapati flour and avoid normal flour; you can use a mix with gram flour but not really necessary.
    For the grease, my mum uses rapeseed oil instead of butter
    The water - not boiling, but warm
    Make sure the dough once kneaded is covered and rested for at least 10/15 mins, but i prefer 25-30 mins,
    A key point - when cooking them, you really need a tava/tawa, a frying pan just doesn't work in getting them nice and puffy.

I got a recipe at home, but most general ones say on the bbc website are fine in terms of ratios etc.

Send some round mine for expert assessment.
    Expert on eating btw, not cooking!

Craftsman
    I’m also an expert when it come to eating them :)

Quote Originally Posted by seikopath View Post
    Anyone make chappattis or any other flatbreads at home? Got any tips?
    IIRC Eddie has mentioned that he does.

I'm rather partial to Aish Baladi, the middle eastern flatbread which is similar to pita but made with whole wheat. Watching it being made is a pleasure and it looks so simple, however my attempts at home have never achieved the same taste and texture ;-(

(Of course, I blame my oven). ;-)

R
    Ignorance breeds Fear. Fear breeds Hatred. Hatred breeds Ignorance. Break the chain.

5 post in and not a single recipe link...

SWMBO makes naan bread and they're heavier and more leaden than anything I can think of. I haven't the heart to tell her.
    In the Sotadic Zone, apparently.

Quote Originally Posted by Carlton-Browne View Post

SWMBO makes naan bread and they're heavier and more leaden than anything I can think of. I haven't the heart to tell her.