closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Advice on buying a watch at Auction

Journeyman

Advice on buying a watch at Auction

Hi All

I have identified a watch I want to buy.

It’s a tasty price (assuming it stays in that range), but the reason is that the watch is at an auction.

I have no experience of buying in auctions and to complicate matters further, this auction is in the USA as well.

Is there any advice you can give me?

It’s with Sotheby’s in the USA.

Thank you very much.

The number one thing to remember is to disregard an estimate. There are hardly any bargains at auction and even less so with Sotheby’s profile. The watch will sell for its current value or more if the buyers get carried away

Sounds like a 'come and get me' estimate to entice folks such as yourself to bid.

What advice are you seeking? Read-up on all the costs involved (they'll be able to tell you what sort of percentage you'll need to add on top of the hammer price), and check out their shipping costs too, and then you'll need to consider the additional costs upon landing here with our Customs.

don't forget buyers premium, import duty etc etc etc etc
    Good luck everybody. Have a good one.

Journeyman
    Thank you all.

It's not a sought after Patek, so hoping it will stay in range. But yes, like cars I suspect it's a tempter.

The watch doesn't seem to have box and papers. That doesn't bother me in itself as I can get Patek to provide me with a certificate, but can I offer to bid subject to inspection, etc?

How are you going to inspect it if the watch is the states and you are in London?
    Good luck everybody. Have a good one.

The auction house will provide a condition report, but any bids will be final and binding. I would factor in a movement service unless there is evidence that one has been performed fairly recently.

Journeyman
    Quote Originally Posted by seikopath View Post