closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Reusing Granite Kitchen Countertops? Worth it?

Reusing Granite Kitchen Countertops? Worth it?

Another Mumsnet/Moneysavingexpert post from me.

A friend had just bought a new house and doesn't like the kitchen, this includes the solid granite countertops. He said I could have the countertops. Otherwise he'll just dump them/let the kitchen fitter take them away.

I like the countertops and it would be a shame to see them go to waste. Does anyone have any experience in using used countertops?

I've got no experience with granite, never really been able to afford it. I'm unsure if the expense of granite is in the material itself or the labour to cut/fit/etc..?

Overall is it worth reusing or just starting from scratch? Am I searching for a bargain that isn't really there?

In case it makes any difference, I'm looking at 7-8 metres worth of countertop.

Master
    That's a lot of money right there he's planning on throwing away. If you don't want it, at least stick it on ebay with a reserve at say 50% of whatever it would cost to buy that size and shape. Lot's of online calculators where you can work out what that exact dimension would cost to buy. And a shiply quote to find out how much to deliver it.

Why would it no longer be useful, it's millions of years old, 10years in a kitchen isn't going to ruin it.

If you were in Malta I'd say don't hesitate to go for it. Granite can be recut, re-filled and polished and if you are short of what you need it can be matched. But we have a relatively enormous number of marble/granite suppliers and fitters for a small island and the cost of getting the work done would be considerably lower than in the UK.

Your friend doesn't need another friend does he? I'd snatch his arms off.

Of course. Even if you don't use it in the kitchen it can still be cut and re-purposed.