closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Camera advice- motorcycle racing

Master

Camera advice- motorcycle racing

Morning everyone, I'm hoping for some advice from the photographers on here. I'm a not very good photographer with trips planned to the TT and a couple of MotoGP's this year, and I'd like to get a suitable camera, from the Canon range as I have a few Canon lenses.

I have Canon 6d which a bought a while ago for landscape shots, and northern lights in Finland and it worked very well for that but I tried using it at the track last year and found that the burst rate couldn't keep up. I gave up with auto focus and just locked the focus to a place on the the track.

Been looking at 7d, and most of the reviews say this is good for motorsports, but is there any advantage with a 5d?

Also, any recommendations for a lens? My lenses were also aimed more at landscape/portrait so I don't have a long lens.

Sent from my iPad using TZ-UK mobile app

What lenses have you got?

Master
    Quote Originally Posted by catch21 View Post
    What lenses have you got?
    i knew someone's would ask that! I'll check and post back!

I have a 30D and a Sigma 70-300 which I have used a few times for motorbike racing, at my level it has suited me pretty well.

Master
    Quote Originally Posted by berin View Post
    i knew someone's would ask that! I'll check and post back!
    Right, I've got the 24-105 kit lens, a 16-35 wide, and a 50mm fixed lens

What's the biggest f stop it will go to at 105?

I think I'd be looking for a minimum telephoto of 300mm and minimum f stop of f4 the try and a) get close enough and b) be fast enough to freeze the action.

Quote Originally Posted by catch21 View Post
    What's the biggest f stop it will go to at 105?

I think I'd be looking for a minimum telephoto of 300mm and minimum f stop of f4 the try and a) get close enough and b) be fast enough to freeze the action.