closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Buying from auction house - Fellows or easy live auction

Apprentice

Buying from auction house - Fellows or easy live auction

Hi All,

I'm new to all this auction house thing or buying from auctions such as Fellows / Easy Live Auction etc.
    Just had few questions:
    -Firstly I'm assuming you can not actually buy it directly from Fellows website but go through three of the options such as The Saleroom, Live Auctioneers and Easy Live Auction?
    -I was thinking of going through the Easy Live Auction website - "Buyers can choose whether to pay a live bidding charge of 3% (plus VAT) or 3.6% (inclusive of VAT) of the hammer price, or a fixed fee of £3 per sale."
    -What would I actually be paying on a watch , just say on hammer price of £1000? Full price including delivery etc.. until I actually get it and on my wrist.
    -Do I have to pay Fellows a fee? and the auction website I just used?
    -Anyone actually buy online from Fellows? How was the process? Anything to look out for?

Cant seem to get my head around it or get the right information.

Master
    Buy from Fellows direct (bidding in person or having left your bid) and you'll pay 24% commission, so £1,240 on your example.

Buy through an online intermediary and you'll pay 3% or so extra.

Fellows are among the best in terms of trying to do things right, describe the watches properly and even cater for this slightly unusual audience.

Don't expect to find a bargain these days. Fellows sales are very well publicised which means good watches realise full money, while cheap watches will often be the tattier ones that the trade (myself included) choose not to sell through retail.

If you aren't a confident and knowledgable buyer, auction may not be the wisest route. Even with a good auction house you enjoy fewer rights than buying from a dealer / jeweller and commonly there is no material saving to be made.