closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Apple pie recipes

Master

Apple pie recipes

I want to make an apple pie.

Lots of recipes online, of course, but many of them have reviews that indicate that they don’t always turn out too well. Any recommendations for something fairly foolproof? I am a reasonable cook but I rarely make pastry. One element seems to vary a lot: the type of apples. Overall, it seems that a mix of cookers and eaters is best. Any thoughts?

I see most recipes involve a cake or pie tin, enamelled metal, which I do not have. Won’t a heavy pyrex thing do?

Other things that vary a lot include whether or not to bake the pastry base separately first.

Recipes with minimal amounts of butter per portion would be good too.

Master
    Blog Entries
    I've made a few apple pies. Avoid using anything older than a 4s. They taste rubbish...

Master
    Seem to recall our very own Brendan (Webwatchmaker) had a apple crumble or apple pie recipe on his website. Torpidity induced by a heavy meal can't be bothered posting the link!
    I've always used a pyrex dish for my crumble and on the rare occasion I make apple pie I use a cake tin. No idea if it makes a difference. I use LOTS of butter in mine add some cashewnuts as well!
    Last edited by 72bpm; 20th January 2017 at 22:26.

Master
    Cheers 72bpm. He has a recipe for a crumble, but not a pie.

Each year I freeze an ice-cream tub full of brambles from my small garden at their ripest which is July/August (I planted a Cambridge Giant bramble years ago - the fruits are awesome and the thorns would deter the most determined scallywag).
    Then when the apples (Lord Derby and the dual-purpose Falstaff) are ripe I make some apple & bramble pies. The recipe will work just as well with apples only; in that case I would throw in a few sultanas and of course some cloves.