closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Doing up a house, anyone done this and can offer advice?

Hybrid View

Doing up a house, running progress report

Hi Gents,

I've just bought my dream home, built in 1983 as a bespoke commission and is done like a true Georgian manor including Georgian sliding sash windows and external French doors, timber moulding in the soffits etc.

It's not been lived in for around 8 years and needs updating but it is in great shape and mostly requires modern services and cosmetic work.

I'm a Chartered Surveyor so know what needs doing and how to do it but the point of this post is to establish of you can shed any light on the things I may overlook like hard wired smoke detectors, cat 6 cabling, security and other items that would be worth doing/installing at this juncture.

I'm set on the hot water and central heating systems, Windows, kitchen, bathrooms, flooring etc but would be keen to hear from people who have been through this process and may have any insights or advice. I'm particularly ignorant when it comes to electrical services, audio visual, security and networking...

Any advice would be welcome.

Cheers

JC
    Last edited by JC180; 14th December 2016 at 00:52.

Just coming to the end of my ground floor re-furb in my house. I'm thrilled with the overall job but sometimes it's the stupid little things that please the most ... standard double wall sockets but with built in USB charge points so no more adaptors to plug in to charge the various phones and tablets / zoned and dimmable lighting in each room / under floor wet heating.

When it comes to alarm systems I was recommended away from wi-fi sensors with a SIM card dial out and to a more traditional hardwired with landline drop and dial set up .... harder to install due to the wiring but considerably more reliable (especially if you live in an area with poor mobile signal).