closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Building Contract for extension

Master

Building Contract for extension

Hi

Looking to put a contract in place with the builder for upcoming extension - anyone got a template I could take a look at? Or is there something that I can buy somewhere? Can't find the last one I used.

Thanks in advance

Cheers

Not sure if this is what you're after?

It's the Federation of Master Builders contract, normally used by the contractor

HERE

I'm at work and bored, so just trawled the net, I have no experience of using this contract nor do I have any legal expertise.

Paul

Craftsman
    Quote Originally Posted by bambam View Post
    Looking to put a contract in place with the builder for upcoming extension - anyone got a template I could take a look at? Or is there something that I can buy somewhere? Can't find the last one I used.
    Did this work for you last time? Depending on the size of your build, trying to impose a JCT contract on a builder will only persuade him to up his price to cover potential risk. In the UK, since verbal contracts are binding, I would concentrate on a relationship with a builder via trust rather than try to wrap one up in a contract. It will be you who ends up paying for the privilege of a contract that might be hard to enforce if real disagreements start.

The building industry always has risks, that's why you need a contract, particularly where big numbers are concerned. When things get ugly you need something better than "he said this, he said that".

Master
    Assuming you haven't appointed a consultant then use the JCT Homeowners Contract. If the builder won't use a contract then walk away and find one that will. Sure there are lots of great, honest builders out there but there are also lots of crooks. Relying on a verbal contact when spending thousands is way too much of a risk.

http://www.ribabookshops.com/item/jc...sultant/85525/