closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Watch Sizes

Craftsman

Watch Sizes

This may seem a naive question,but I am fairly new to watches and I was wondering is the big increase in watch sizes over the years mainly down to fashion or is there technological reasons behind it.I have got 8 inch wrists and can handle a large watch but prefer around 40/42 mm.My neighbour is a small slim guy probably got a 6 inch wrist but wears a huge fashion monstrosity at least 52 mm.

Blog Entries
    Just fashion I think.

Many larger watches have small movements inside and big spacers. Also, big watches with complications often have the complications noticeably scrunched into the centre of the dial where the movement is.

It seems to me that fashions go in cycles. With phones, they got smaller and smaller for years. Now the need for screen space is driving them to be slightly larger with each iteration.

Craftsman
    The only technological influence I can think of is the tech associated with mobile phones and computers which means that wearing a watch is no longer necessary for most to keep track of time during the course of a day. Having lost some of the functional aspect its become more of a fashion item and bigger is more noticeable.

Master
    It's purely a fashion thing. Although not necessarily taste. 36mm is still about the right size IMO!

N

Here we go...

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Umbongo View Post
    Here we go...
    What's up?

Technological reasons in as much as some divers are made bigger & thicker to obtain ridiculous depth ratings which no one really needs. In saying that I love how the larger divers look & I probably wouldn't wear anything under 43mm. Realistically the depth rating means nothing to me as I don't dive (although I can appreciate the engineering involved) & I would still wear them for the aesthetics even if they only had a depth rating of 50m.