closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Do you have a dream collection?

Master

Do you have a dream collection?

Or do you just buy what you fancy when you can?

I don't want to be a flipper and I don't have the funds to buy lots right now so "planning" is all I can do! Problem with these sites is the plan changes quite often. Currently have a Chr. Ward C5, Victorinox Inox and a Speedy Pro. The "plan" looks something like this:

You got a plan?

Nah, no plan.
    As evidenced but the sudden desire to add Roy's UN Maxi Marine Diver to the collection - never even contemplated them until I saw the FS add.

You, however, have a very good plan!

I've been buying watches for about three years and even in that time the 'plan' has changed countless times. It's a journey, not a destination :)

I've always told myself I did, but I do a lot of buying and flipping and consolidating of less expensive pieces to get to the "dream collection" pieces. For me that's always been more fun than self denial and a small but growing savings balance.

For the heck of it, I decided last week to see if I could live with a six watch collection, since I have five watches now that I consider long term keepers. I selected one other watch from my collection to keep at home with the first five, and I took the other twenty or so watches to the bank and locked them in my safe deposit box.

I have to say, having only six watches to choose from is a drastic departure from my status quo (although I truly enjoy each of the six I've kept), but I'm adapting. I'll see how I feel at the end of a month's time. Either I'll have changed my wearing habits considerably, or I'll have decided these discussions of "dream collections" just don't work for me.