closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: seamaster help please

Master

seamaster help please

i have a seamaster chrono witch i like alot and am thicking about buying a seamaster pro quarzt on rubber as an alternative it wil be a third watch and worn no more then twice a month. if i pull the crown will this stop the movement and save the battery

Master
    There is a debate about whether pulling the crown actually saves the battery or not. Just because the hands aren't moving doesn't necessarily mean that there still isn't a draw on the battery. Besides, when you pull the crown out you may expose the case to the atmosphere and potential problems like condensation.

Master
    thanks for that if anyone can shed more light i will be gratefull :lol:

In the manual for my 8F56 Seiko Perpetual Calendar it recommends pulling out the crown to stop the movement if the watch isn't being worn for an extended period. I have to admit I've not really bothered, as its useful having the thing saying the right time/date when I want a "pick up and go" watch. I'd personally suggest wearing it more often and not worrying about it :)

Master
    If you're going to pull the crown and stop the watch, why not buy the automatic version? One of the primary benefits of a quartz is that it's always "ready to go".

Kevin

Master
    Quote Originally Posted by r1ch
    I have to admit I've not really bothered, as its useful having the thing saying the right time/date when I want a "pick up and go" watch. I'd personally suggest wearing it more often and not worrying about it :)
    Yep.

Master
    If you pull the crown, the drain on the battery is less because the tiny motor(s) that drives the hands no longer operates. It leaves only the chip current to drain the battery. The price of batteries being what it is, the cost advantage is moot.

Quote Originally Posted by Ronda