Re: 360.000 bph Smith on ebay

1/100 of a minute.

Banned
    Blog Entries

My mistake.

Rather odd though.
    Decimal seconds, 100 in a minute. :?
    From a country that stíll hasn´t gone decimal for anything else .....

Serves me right. I should stick to 0.01 sec. soviet ones.

The 1/100th (decimal minute) unit was mostly used in time / motion / work studies...

Banned
    Blog Entries

Thanks.

I knew the decimal minute was French revolutionary time and in astronomy the whole lot is decimal, called Julian time.
    The only time I encountered it in real life was for billing of machine time.

Interesting piece if not for the technology as it would have been at 50 Hrz.

Yes - looks bog-standard flyback stopwatch. I was a qualified work-study engineer at one time (many moons ago) and these things were kicking about everywhere! Soon replaced with digital ones that not only recorded the last ten flyback times (so you could catch up if you'd chosed your elements badly or the worker suddenly went into overdrive) but also kept an accurate record of elapsed time. Timing errors on studies suddenly vanished.

Banned
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by simes
    Yes - looks bog-standard flyback stopwatch. I was a qualified work-study engineer at one time (many moons ago) and these things were kicking about everywhere! Soon replaced with digital ones that not only recorded the last ten flyback times (so you could catch up if you'd chosed your elements badly or the worker suddenly went into overdrive) but also kept an accurate record of elapsed time. Timing errors on studies suddenly vanished.
    Ah, but thóse actually kept 1/100th of a secónd :D and noth decimal minutes afaik.